Citizen Wayne Wins Theatresports™ Season Opener

by Kevin Yank on 13 May, 2013 in Shows

Impro Melbourne’s 2013 Theatresports™ season kicked off on Mother’s Day evening in fine fashion, with the first four of this year’s nine teams competing to score some early points in the race for the Grand Final on July 13th.

Citizen Wayne players Jason Geary, Karl McConnell and Rik Brown stand centre stage and smile following their win of the season opener
click for the full photo

The winners this week were the heavyweights from Citizen Wayne: Jason Geary, Karl McConnell and Rik Brown. This veteran combo played together for years under the name Calamity Wayne, most famously in The Bingo Board of Doom!, a staple of the Melbourne impro comedy scene for many years, and has reformed under its new name especially for this season.

Famous for combining games in unexpected and challenging ways, Citizen Wayne this week opened with Touch To Talk In An Outrageous Accent, and built on each strong scene with something even better, culminating in the final scene of the night, a Mexican Soap Opera: “Who Moved My Cheese”, featuring the cheesy, cheesy fingers of ‘Juanita’ … and her twin sister ‘Janita’ (both played by Karl McConnell).

Special mention must be made of Super Mega Awesome Impro Based Theatre Team That Is Good, who rallied from their trailing score with a bold Anything Rollercoaster that settled into a hysterically funny Spanish Gibberish scene to claim a perfect score of 5-5-5 (the only one of the night!).

The final scores were:

  • Citizen Wayne: 50
  • The Upper Somerton Aesthetic Society: 47
  • Super Mega Awesome Impro Based Theatre Team That Is Good: 33
  • Tie Of The Tiger: 32

Here are the standings following the season opener:

Citizen Wayne 1 1 0 0 3
The Upper Somerton Aesthetic Society 1 0 1 0 2
Super Mega Awesome Impro Based Theatre Team That Is Good 1 0 0 1 1
Tie Of The Tiger 1 0 0 0 0
Double Denim 0 0 0 0 0
Hoof Hearted 0 0 0 0 0
Middlegameatry 0 0 0 0 0
Sky Tiger 0 0 0 0 0
Suspenders Of Disbelief 0 0 0 0 0

* Win = 3 points, 2nd place = 2 points, 3rd place = 1 point.

Next Sunday, May 19th, our season continues with the debut of five more completely new teams:

  • Double Denim: Anna Renzenbrink, Victoria Healy, Mike Bryant
  • Hoof Hearted: Lliam Amor, Amanda Buckley, Lee Naimo
  • Middlegameatry: Mark Gambino, Jimmy James Eaton, Liam Ryan, Fran Middleton
  • Sky Tiger: Amy Moule, Merrilee McCoy, Josh Dore, Nick Gardiol
  • Suspenders of Disbelief: Mim Carville, Greg Lavell, Charlie Sturgeon, Emmet Nichols

Be there or— well, you’ll just miss out, really. With teams like these, we don’t need to be pushy!